Learning sequencers - asking for tips

Hi!

I am new to synthesis and falling in love with VCV racks and the sounds I am making and hearing - mostly hearing actually from people who know more of what they do.

I am struggling with sequencing. I do not know the principles behind it and its logic. I do not know how to control the melodies not even to make a simply decent sounding sequence.

The goal would though to have a progression of root notes (actually more than one that I would like to be able to alternate) that would send the root note of the sequnce to the bass line, to the chords, and to an arp. I am sure this is possible, but I do not have the knowledge myself and I am here to ask to tips and explanation.

Even some good resource for theory and pure knowledge would be appreciated. thank you in advance!

To me, a sequencer in its most simple form is a device that sends out a chain (sequence) of CV values over time and repeats it indefinitely.

You usually set the number of steps you want in your chain. While playing, a new step is selected when the sequencer receives a gate/clock signal at its clock input.

For each step, you can select the CV value it emits, which can be used for anything, such as the cutoff frequency of a filter, but also for pitch. At first, try connecting a scope and watch the levels dancing around based on the CV values you set.

As the emitted voltage can be any number within the set range, you can send the signal through a quantizer to e.g. restrict it to values of defined semitones.

From there you would draw a cable to the V/Oct input of a device that produces the sound, such as an oscillator or a synth.

Then you can either play out the music theory of intervals or just set the knobs by ear until the sequence sounds the way you like it.

It helps if your synth plays a short, plucky sound with a reasonably short release. Otherwise notes will overlap and may blend into each other more than you want.