How to download and import plugins?[Mac]

hi I’m a newbie. I’m having issues importing the plugins I installed from the vcv library on vcvrack.com, and I don’t know how to import them into the app

You don’t need to import plugins from the library. When VCV Rack starts it checks the library, then puts a red dot on the Library menu. You then select the Update All menu option and the plugins are downloaded. Then when you restart Rack the plugins will be available.

it doesn’t make me do it. I don’t really know how to basic here. I downloaded the plugins from the GitHub page the site redirects you to, and then downloaded and opened the .zip from GitHub. what did I miss?

The usual way to get plugins is to go the plugins page and select the ones you want. https://vcvrack.com/plugins.html

For these ones, where you clicked the button on the right, you don’t download anything yourself. VCV Rack then does the rest as described above.

If you want to get plugins outside of the library, that is when you do it manually. Download the zip, put it in the plugin folder, then when Rack starts it unzips and the plugins are available.

Have you read this? https://vcvrack.com/manual/Installing

The steps are:

• Download and install VCV Rack.
  • Register for a VCV account and log in using Rack’s “Library” menu.
  • Subscribe to a plugin, relaunch Rack, and click “Library > Update all” in the menu bar.
    • Adding individual modules will be allowed when Rack v2 is released, since this relies on its module whitelist feature. Until then, you must subscribe to the entire plugin.
  • Restart Rack and add the new module(s) to your patch.

The non-intuitive part is obfuscated by “Subscribe to a plugin”. As near as I can make out, you don’t, (yet - I guess we’ll have to wait for Rack v2 for that feature).

What you have to do is subscribe to the designer or publisher of the module, so that you end up with all of their modules.