Helping a newbie to plugin development

I know the basics of programming, and understand the core structure of programming in C++. I know how to program, but all is self taught in the last couple of months.

I want to make a sequencer that doesn’t have any exact parallel in any of the other plugins in all the VCV Rack community, but I don’t really understand how the code works for a sequencer. I do, however, understand how the graphic part of the code works, but just to make it show in Rack, i.e. initialize the plugin, add the name of it and the module, compile it, make it show in Rack (I made the graphics needed like some knobs, jack input/output, and the panel), tweak knobs and patch cables that doesn’t do anything. But don’t how to actually make it do anything.

How can I learn the process of building a sequencer?
Is there any specific resource or do I have to learn all about DSP and C++ from scratch? :sweat_smile:

The first module I’m trying to make is a sequencer inspired by the Ladik S-180 & Ladik S-183. If anyone wants to help me, you are more than welcome, the plugin is in it’s very early stages and I’m not the best at either the code or design.

Thanks for your help. :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

So a sequencer is, unlike dealing with oscillators and analogue audio signals, extremely straightforward. The internals range from simply storing parameters in the parameters array (if you have a knobby sequencer, like SEQ-3 where there are no preset banks and every step is visible always) or some kind of internal array if you have a beefy pattern store like @marc_boule’s pattern or gate seq’s.