GeneratedCinematic - made with VCV

Hi all! I’ve been using VCV for about 11 months now, gradually progressing from my first blips and bloops to, “What’s Omri uploaded recently?”

Along the way I discovered the Meander & Host modules, and I completed what I think is an interesting patch based around them. It was a lot of fun figuring out the logic to make things jump around, switch phrasing, root and key in a way that was still somewhat musical to my ears.

Here’s a link to the piece on YouTube, hope you enjoy: ComposerAssistant v0.7

1 Like

I always enjoy seeing what people do with my Meander module. I like your cinematic patch.

1 Like

Thanks, @k-chaffin - both for checking it out and making the module!!!

1 Like

So, I’ve been involved with some discussions about whether or not the composer is necessary when working with generative/algorithmic music. I came up with this piece as my answer, thought y’all might enjoy it. The patch will be ever-evolving, I suspect…

The Hand Of Man (Patch) The Hand Of Man (Visualizer)

3 Likes

Reminds me of mid-century East European classical music. (Although I cannot come up with any specific titles at the moment.)

1 Like

As the Meander developer, I love reading discussions such as this one. I love how The Hand of Man piece starts out with a minimal Meander patch, which generates music theory correct harmony, melody and bass but is boring. The rest of the piece shows how the interesting music emerges as a human uses Meander as a framework and decides how to make the result interesting, while remaining generative.

It is my hope also that Meander can help understand some of the underpinnings of western music theory and common practice. It is fun to see how composers use Meander and how that affects the feeling of the final piece.