Frank Buss Formula: Ridiculous use

Silly Saturday afternoon doodling:

The patch: vcv.vcv (8.0 KB) I can’t play it without audio buffer underrun on my PC, needs too much time. It was created with this SVG file, and then using this Python script to create the formula. Easiest to replace the two formulas with a text editor in the VCV file, which the Python script outputs at the end, if you want to create your own graphics. Remove the trailing “+”.

8 Likes

Could you explain this a bit more detailed for total beginners and p(python/coding) illiterate peeps like me

1 Like

:rofl::rofl: what does that even sound like?

1 Like

First you install Python 3. Then open a command prompt or shell and start the script, like “python3 vcv.py”. It will output 2 long lines, starting with “(x>=0” and “(y>=0”. Maybe best to save it right away in a file, with “python3 vcv.py > out.txt”. Then start a text editor, like Notepad on Windows, open the vcv.vcv patch, and replace the two formulas with the output (search for “text”, or just scroll in the file until you see the previous formula). To edit the vcv.svg file, I recommend using Inkscape.

1 Like

3 Likes

thank you, I hope I understand it

1 Like

I tried to do this with several simple svgs and it had trouble. It seems want something specific to make it work right.

2 Likes

It works only with straight lines, no curves, no objects, no groups or transforms etc. In fact I did use a second layer in Inkscape and typed the text, then locked the layer, and traced it with minimal number of lines on another layer by hand, then deleted the first layer.

1 Like

ah I see I was trying that but with circles and curves. I will try to trace with just straight lines. Thanks.

1 Like

wavhead is not a good candidate - the eyes and mouth screw it up :slight_smile:

6 Likes