feature proposal for bridging cables in VCV Rack

Hi, I would like to propose a feature that could be discussed in this forum so it make sense, I’m not a developer so it might be a big nonsense, or it might need to be though further with more minds

• In Rack we cannot connect input together and we cannot connect output together
  • In hardware we can do it… but we’ll burn the thing if we do :slight_smile:

Yet one thing we do a lot in hardware (tiptop cables and banana) is bridging: connecting a few inputs together (nothing wrong with that) and just plug one cv signal into the network of cable to control everything at once. It’s super powerful and super fun. Maybe it could be done in Rack

Right now the rule is:

• inputs CAN be connected to outputs
  • outputs CANNOT be connected together
  • inputs CANNOT be connected together
  • more than one cable at output port ALLOWED
  • more than one cable at input port NOT ALLOWED

To allow bridging operation, the rules should be

• inputs CAN be connected to outputs
  • outputs CANNOT be connected together
  • inputs CAN be connected together
  • more than one cable at output port ALLOWED
  • more than one cable at input port ALLOWED IF one cable or less is connected to an output port for the complete bridged network

What do you think? does it make sense?

here is an example: the orange cables are bridging the paning modulation of all track so sending a single cv signal into this turns the whole thing alive

3 Likes

I like the idea since I think it will allow more compact cabling for patches, and could be of particular good use for clocks and resets, but I’m worried that it adds a small layer of complexity both for the code that Andrew would have to change and for the ease of comprehension for less experienced users.