Eurorack DIY tips

I want to build some NLC modules, but have close to zero experience with soldering or reading schematics, let alone SMD. I tried looking for resources online but was a bit overwhelmed, so I thought I could use some guidance. Please, has anyone built one of their modules before? Would you recommend it to a beginner? Where should I start learning from?

Iā€™ll accompany you on this journey if I may. I have been planning to order some PCBs & Panels for a while. Iā€™ve done a couple of simple SMD modules, and some SMD parts on THT modules, but I have no experience of sourcing parts. Iā€™ve always used kits.

The main source for help is the FB group, but I am no longer Zucked, so I may have to join the Discord.

Have you ordered any PCBs from Australia yet?

1 Like

Youā€™re more than welcome to hop along. :slight_smile: Please, do you have any resources you could point me to?

Iā€™m not on FB either. Iā€™ll look into the Discord. Iā€™ve never ordered anything from Andrew directly. I was thinking about ordering a kit from synthCube (which Iā€™ve used before) and starting from there. Something simple, like a 1U difference rectifier, maybe.

Can you be more specific on what you are looking for?

If you want guidance on the modules, then I think the NLC website is it.

If you want some general stuff on soldering etc I can help with that.

1 Like

Just some general stuff on soldering, reading schematics, basic circuit knowledgeā€¦ Iā€™m looking for a good starting point so I donā€™t get too lost.

The Erica Synths / Moritz Klein educational series perhaps?

For soldering, look at Tom Whitwellā€™s videos / PDFs on how to build his modules.

For schematics, anywhere, really. Basic book or Wikipedia. For circuit knowledge, Moritz Klein, as stated, and Aaron Lantermanā€™s YouTube if you want more detail (Iā€™m too old to learn this stuff).