Double & float

Hello !

I’m pretty new to development I’ve seen that in some cases double are faster than float due to the way cpu compute. Do you have a rule of thumb for choosing between double and float ? Is there a major difference in cpu load using one or the other ?

Have a nice day !

May you give us some examples with benchmarks?

I’m also curious what examples you’ve seen, since I’ve never seen an example of this in practice.

At worst, floats can have roughly the same instruction latency as doubles, but at best, memory transfers are twice as fast, SIMD instructions can compute twice as many floats as doubles, and special functions like sqrt and exp require fewer iterations to reach ULP accuracy.

1 Like

The source is this thread from stack overflow:

Thanks for this clear answer !

From my experience in coding Rack modules, you should only use a double if you need more precision than a float can give you. For me, this happened exactly only once: in my module TapeRecorder, for the inter-sample-position of the tape-head I use a double to provide an exact tape-speed-control for tapes longer than about 6 minutes.

For audio or CV data, using double instead of float is simply a waste of memory. You can’t hear any difference. And keep in mind, that nowadays memory is always slower than a CPU. So every time-slice you might win on the CPU will be lost at least more than 2 times on the memory side.

I read the article on stackoverflow. Akash Agrawal wrote: In experiments of adding 3.3 for 2000000000 times, results are:

Summation time in s: 2.82 summed value: 6.71089e+07 // float
Summation time in s: 2.78585 summed value: 6.6e+09 // double
Summation time in s: 2.76812 summed value: 6.6e+09 // long double