Do we still need the real thing?

Hi All and happy new year!

I got into modular during the summer, and only later got to know VCV, and the work of artists such as Omri Cohen showing how deep that is. With VCV becoming more reliable - and possibly being even better than it is already with the upcoming mayor release - a few months and thousands Euros later the question was inevitable to me: do I still need the real thing?

The release of most of Instruo’s product line in VCV - one of my favourites - was the last nail in the coffin. Now, every time I sit at my rack - or, worse, I think of buying a new module - I can’t but wonder: shouldn’t I rather just sell everything and focus on VCV? A second hand Cš-L was actually my last purchase in the real world, 400 vs zero EUR.

Now, I love the module manufactures and I want more of them and new creativity and competition. I’ve purchased many of the non-free VCV modules as a way to support them. But the question stands.

Note that I’m not a professional musician, and I don’t need to perform outside my studio. Please give me a reason we still need the real thing, beyond the satisfaction of patching and tweaking something physical. Thanks!

G.

3 Likes

For me, moving knobs and cables with a mouse pointer is less satisfactory than handling the ‘real thing’.

I sold my tiny hardware rack a couple of years ago because I thought making music completely ‘in the box’ would give me more opportunities.

But I still miss the experience of the ‘real thing’.

My personal advice:

• If you want to play around with knobs and cables, go for hardware.
  • If you want to compose and produce music, go for a traditional DAW.
  • If a traditional DAW doesn’t fit your needs, go for the VCV Rack.
  • If you can code your own modules, the possibilities given by the rack blow up for you.