Developing VCV in Windows

Hi,

I am new to VCV development and am trying to build from source. I have a fresh windows machine and followed these instructions: https://vcvrack.com/manual/Building#setting-up-your-development-environment … firstly installing MSYS2, then updating packages, etc…

Oddly when I then launch the MSYS2 MinGW 64 bit shell, and the CD to where I git cloned Rack… and then run make dep, the build fails at openssl …

I then restarted the MSYS2 MinGW 64 bit shell itself, but it now seems make is somehow missing/not in my path.

Any ideas? Is the VCV documentation horribly out of date and thus I’m doomed to fail? Or am I slow and there is some basic MSYS2 issue here I need to fix first?

Many thx Justin

Some more detail - seems like the openssl dependency is failing during the build

lomhe@WINDOWS-IA9F3LI MINGW64 /D/RAck/dep/openssl-1.1.1d $ make --debug=b GNU Make 4.3 Built for x86_64-pc-msys Copyright © 1988-2020 Free Software Foundation, Inc. License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it. There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law. Reading makefiles… Updating makefiles… Updating goal targets… ** File ‘all’ does not exist.** ** File ‘build_generated’ does not exist.** ** Must remake target ‘build_generated’.** ** Successfully remade target file ‘build_generated’.** Must remake target ‘all’. make depend && make _all make: /bin/sh: No such file or directory make: *** [Makefile:188: all] Error 127

I’m not on widows, but this could be caused by one of two things:

First, its possible that you don’t have the Borne Shell (or equivalent) installed. Make sure that you install it as part of the MinGW installation. Most probably this is your issue.