Dave Hammer - musical patches (youtube channel)

Hi all. In this thread I’d like to start a conversation about making music in VCV Rack and uploading videos on youtube.

Basically, every time I upload a video with my recent patch, the next day I’m not happy with it and always find something wrong. Mostly I find serious mistakes in the composition, the way how it was played/recorded or the overall sound character/mixdown. Usually I have a problem with the sound. I feel like it’s too loud or not loud enough, doesn’t have enough low end or has too much low end. Sometimes I discover annoying sounds I left unmuted for the whole track, find problems with stereo correlation and so on…

I’m fairly new to VCV Rack so I’d like to throw a couple of questions that could be potentially useful to others:

-do you delete your youtube videos you don’t like anymore in order to keep only high-quality content?

-do you upload your videos the same day you record them or take some time to listen through them properly and fix mistakes before you share them?

-do you record from VCV Rack in multitrack and do a proper mixdown in a DAW?

-do you check your overall sound in mono to avoid phase-correlation issues?

-do you check your overall sound with a spectrum analyzer to make sure the frequency spectrum is nicely balanced?

-do you adjust the volume with a limiter to achieve -14LUFS so all your videos have the same volume level?

(You don’t have to answer all of them, just pick a random question✌️)

Finally here is the link to my youtube channel: Dave Hammer - YouTube

(I’m happy to drop some examples of my mistakes with the link to the particular videos if anyone is interested to discuss that)

No but I sometimes think about it.

I listen to things over and over again before I record and then through the whole thing after I recorded it (even if it’s an hour long). Then I obsess over the visuals. After I’ve recorded it I just leave it and move on.