Crostini ARM build?

I’ve moved to an 8-core arm with 12 hrs battery life …

Is there any news on maybe an arm build?

i’m regularly building it (and running it successfully) on both 32bit and 64bit arm linux, i’m just no longer providing binary builds due to the fuzzy licensing situation around such - if you want to build yourself, you maybe try to use my build setup: GitHub - hexdump0815/rack-dockerbuild-v2: docker based build based on the vcvrack v2 sources on armv7l and aarch64 on ubuntu 18.04 and raspbian bullseye

best wishes and good luck - hexdump

2 Likes

On the other side of the pond :bird: ARM builds have been a thing since the start, with recently even RISC-V ones too.

The license situation makes modified, redistributable builds of Rack quite difficult. If you fork Rack in order to fix or change stuff, it is no longer the official VCV Rack and thus you cant use their artwork/panels. You might have some luck with GitHub - Rcomian/Rack: Open-source virtual modular synthesizer - my mutlithreaded engine version because I like large patches though this free fork is quite outdated now

I don’t understand this one, can you clarify? I know you’re not allowed to change the panels and distribute them, but if you fork Rack, don’t change anything on the panels and distribute it, what licenses are you violating?

Sure, let me try to go step by step.
Do tell if you find my logic seems to be wrong to you.

So first, VCV and its logo have copyrights attached to them.
VCV Rack licensing states:

The VCV logo and icon are copyright © 2017 VCV and may not be used in derivative works.

They dont want you to use their name in something that they didnt make. Fair enough.

Now imagine someone does a fork or something that is obviously not official.
The Core modules (and Fundamental) contain the VCV logo, so we are expected the remove them from the panel designs as we are not allowed to use in “derivative works”.