Creating song with multiple sequencers

I am new to vcv, have been using Logic to create music for years. VCV is amazing but getting out of my way of thinking has been tough

Is there a way to trigger sequencers when the time is right? I read post about using Count Modular 8 x 16 to do this but I can’t get it to do what I want to

Below is a screenshot of what I would like to do (In a rudimentary way). Where the seq is green is where I want it to play, off I want off.

Using the wrong module?

1 Like

There are ways to trigger things when the time is right but it can get a bit complicated and the best method will depend on the idiosyncrasies of the particular sequencers you are using - essentially you can sequence sequencers and there are different ways of doing it (you can sequence program changes for example if the sequencer supports that).

What a lot of people find simpler is to think about it differently and to have all your sequences playing all the time and then sequence mutes on a mixer or use gates to open and close VCAs to create the arrangement.

ShapeMaster is a good tool for arrangement and the method is quite familiar if you have come from a DAW environment. Someone made a tutorial about song arrangement with ShapeMaster a couple of weeks back that you might find useful.

4 Likes

There are a couple of sequencers that do the more traditional “DAW” kind of thing. The paid one from Entrian is popular. My free one (Seq++) is very not popular at all. I like it :wink:

4 Likes

I enjoy your other modules, will check it out!

It’s a little weird, but can’t hurt. And, all kidding aside, the Entrian one is probably better (for some things), and for sure more “mouse oriented” whereas mine is more keyboard oriented.

1 Like

The SEQ++ and 4x4 look like they should work, just need to get my head around them

THanks!

2 Likes