Cable management (suggestion)

I’m new to VCV Rack and the whole modular world, so I’m still learning how most people use colors as their color code. One thing I would find useful would be to have a settings panel where we could add custom cable names so instead of seeing “New cable” when we right click an input/output:

we would see something like this, for example (names are just random, here, of course):

Screen Shot 2023-04-16 at 11.24.11 AM

Then when we drag a cable, it would have the text underneath with the type of cable being used (this could maybe be turned ON/OFF, in case some users would find it useless):

Screen Shot 2023-04-16 at 11.24.31 AM

I think this would make it easier for beginners to build that muscle memory when it comes to their color code. Even for non-beginners?

What do you guys think?

6 Likes

Everything is Voltage :pray:t3:

edit: I don’t use colour coding when I’m patching. Only, maybe, when I’m “done” and want to make a video of the thing. Or it’s at the point where I just want to listen and then occupy myself with tidying the patch. And I’m inclined to believe that thinking in absolute signal types might be detrimental to one’s journey through moodular.

6 Likes

that is a great sugestion , as Urs mentioned , everything is voltage, then is not mandatory to connect an LFO into a CV input, you could connect there audio signal for instance and it will work

however there is some plugins to allow to manage the cable color easily , I don have the name now, but omri use it a lot in his videos

1 Like

I don’t use the function specific colour cable approach because in the real world if I want to trace a cable from its target to its source and it’s one of six close together cables used for modulation then it’s easier to spot if the cables it’s close to are different colours.

3 Likes

Not sure if this is what you mean?

But this is just for colors and keyboard shortcuts, not the names, which is what I would like to have available.