Best way to incorporate wav audio into a module?

What’s the best way to code audio samples (wav files) into a module?

I’ve taken a look at the Autodafe Drum modules on GitHub, as an example, and it looks like the audio files are converted to some kind of Hex Dump in a .h file:

unsigned char <sample name>[] = {
  0x0f, 0x00, 0x97, 0xff, 0xdf, 0xff, 0xe9, 0xff, 0x31, 0x00, 0x65, 0x00,
  0x4f, 0x00, 0x8e, 0x01, 0x21, 0x00, 0x80, 0x19, 0x89…};
unsigned int <sample name>_len = 11996;

I’m just starting to learn c++ for the purpose of developing a few ideas into modules and was wondering how to extract this hex data from wav files. Is there an app, utility, command line execution, etc to do this for several files at the same time, like a batch process? I’m on MacOS by the way.

Also, is this hex dump representation of the audio sample, the actual audio, and it will play as expected when called properly in a module’s source code?

Thanks to all who offer advice or help to point me in the right direction :slight_smile:

1 Like

Why not give the user the ability to replace samples?

That might be a consideration, as an additional feature, but not really the purpose of the module I’d like to develop.

Could you offer advice about the audio file conversion I mentioned above?

You can use the AudioFile.h by Adam Stark to read audio files into memory. From my perspective, there’s no need to put sample data into a .h file.

1 Like

Thank you @Ahornberg! I will give this a look.

From the sounds of it, you feel there’s a better way to embed sampled audio into a module. What other method might you recommend? Thank you again :slight_smile:

I would not embed audio files. I would load them as resources in the same way other resources as SVG-files and fonts are loaded. This will make your code much more maintainable. Make yourself comfortabel with the rack::asset part of the API.

https://vcvrack.com/docs-v2/namespacerack_1_1asset

1 Like

Thank you again!