Arturia vcv setup question

hey folks, i’m new to vcv and i would like to build up a jamming setup for a musicproject.
so i would like to use beatstep pro as master, keystep as slave and integrate them to control vcv

maybe someone has a patchrouting setup to start with, also i would like to know how the clock routing should be then, cause omri said in a video it’s more stabel to work with clock then with midi for that ?!

like this, without the hardeware synths https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5tzM1EP8t4s

cheers mark

What can happen sometimes is that clock information send by midi usb, can have some little problems.

To have Beatstep as master, i guess all you have to do is use a Midi module in Vcv, set it to the beatstep, and patch a cable in the CLK (clock) and use it whenever you need. Now for the keystep as a slave i have never done it so i’m not sure, but it should be doable with just a cable in the right place :wink: I think you need to use a CV - Midi module set to the keystep, and plug in CLK the CLK from the Beatstep. Then, you will put a Midi module set to the keystep, to get the information from the keystep to Vcv :slight_smile:

Hope that helps, if i wasn’t clear enough, tell me i’ll try to reexplain better :wink:

thanks for fast reply reply, i found this one, think this could be a starting point with your routing…

https://patchstorage.com/vcv-beatstep-pro-template/

1 Like

I haven’t yet worked out how to set the Beatstep as a slave, driven by a VCV clock source. Let me know if you work it out!

Hi!