Are vector-based types of processing with GPUs viable in VCV?

Hi there,

I have a feeling that many VCV Rack users have both powerful CPUs and GPUs at their disposal, where GPUs are rarely stressed.

I’m just starting out with signal processing, much of it seemingly expressed through linear algebra. One side of my brain tells me “GPUs can process vectors relatively faster than CPUs, and DSP can be largely expressed through vectors”. The other side goes: “DSP concerns solutions of discrete information, integers, which is the lifeline of CPUs, not GPUs.”

Anyone care to enlighten me on this?

Using GPUs for audio processing tends to be a disappointing experience because it’s so expensive (slow, therefore causing latency issues) to transfer the audio between the main CPU/memory and the GPU. Also, like the poster below mentioned, VCV Rack is already using the GPU quite a lot because its GUI is based on OpenGL. There’s a lot of variability between the GPU hardwares and drivers, which can cause problems.

2 Likes

I didn’t really understand much of that but I can assure you that many people here have humble PCs. Mine is about 6 years old and was mid tier when i got it. Others use laptops. VCV uses a lot of gpu because it does it’s UI with OpenGL not because the audio processing is hard. thanx

I see. I’m a bit blind-sided by having newest from NVidia, seeing the GPU usage go very low, also in my previous job some datasets were processed by PCs with like 4 GPUs because CPUs didn’t cut it.

Thanks for the answer!

Yep, makes sense when I think about why VCV rack was invented to begin with. You’re probably right

I disagree with this. Almost nothing in audio can take advantage of linear algebra or massive parallel computation, compared to all other fields. Do you know of such an algorithm?