Adaptive polyphonic just intonation quantizer?

Not sure what the correct terminology is, I have practically no music theory and I’m a synth noob.

All quantizers that support just intonation that I could find appear to have fairly static tuning, which seems to defeat the purpose. Is there a polyphonic quantizer out there that allows you to constantly update the root note and it automatically adjusts the tuning accordingly? Even better yet would be one that determines the root on its own, perhaps by the lowest note, or else a particular channel. If nothing is out there, are there any developers interested in the challenge?

It will probably mean that the tuning sounds off if you use just intonation and change the root note because it does tuning of ‘perfect’ interval ratios related to the root. If you had a root of C in a just intonated C major then the fifth, G, would be pitched differently to the G that is a minor third in a just intonated E minor from a root Db just intonation, for example.

What do you think the purpose is? You may find it helps to think of instruments with just intonation as built for the purpose of only playing in one particular scale, like a piano built to play A major. The root note defines the root of that scale. By changing the root note of such an instrument you are effectively breaking it and replacing it with an entirely different one. This may not sound too bad if you play the instrument in isolation, but could sound pretty bad if the root change happens over a harmony.

1 Like

I’m just guessing he’s saying that it would be cool to have an instrument in just intonation, but then be able to re-tune it to a new scale whenever you want. And I agree. I don’t know if it would sound good, but it’s a cool idea.