Ableton-like synchronization

Hi guys! I’m pretty new with the VCV. I’m trying to create a live performance environment to use with my singer. I want to sync some synth riff with drum loops i create with other programs. So far my “template” is something like this:

The drum loops are 180 BPM so the stay in sync. I use lots of phrase-seq-16 for notes CV and create verse/choruses, so the main concern is to sync a phrase-seq with a musical box, then throw in lots of them. The S&H module makes sure the sequences are switched at the end of the beat or at the end of the riff.

So far it works pretty well but there are a couple of problems. The main concern is that the musicalbox cannot reset the loops in gate mode, so it’s not easy to sync everything when a drum loop starts at the wrong moment. It would be probably better to launch the drum loops with triggers, but for me is not easy to activate/deactivate loops with triggers. Also, the drum loops have different length, so i’ll have to send, say, 1/16 of the clock in one loop, and 1/32 in another. A solution is to make drum loops of the same length and switch the clock, but i will lose some articulation.

Am i missing something? Are there better modules to achieve what i’m looking for? Thanks everyone and excuse the bad english!!!

1 Like

Check stoermelder 8face and its right click port slot mode ARM. In this case your 8face presets would work like run triggers in Ableton live session mode and this trigger would be waiting for the clock. And then will be immediately switched.

2 Likes

YES!!! Thank you very much, the 8face nailed it. I adjusted a couple of things: i switched to the player from cf because more simple and compact, i throw away the clock dividers because they didn’t work as i expected, but this solution definitly nailed it very well. I rewired the big button for a reset/run routine. I also kept the scale for the phrase-seq so i can use one 8face to control mutiple phrase.