VCV rack and Keylab mkII

Hi! I’m just starting to learn using VCV rack as virtual extension to my hardware modular. I already understand how to send CV out but I have one question about recieving CV in.

For this purpose I use Keylab mk2 which has build in CV in port. In VCV everything works fine. The LFO signal from minibrute 2s is visible on a scope but I still haven’t figured out why negative values are missing.

I tried to convert 0-10V signal to -5-5V using SHAPEMASTER. Thanks to this I have now the whole spectrum with negative values but still there is this gap between waves.

Is there any solution for converting CC from keylab to -5-5V VCV voltage properly?

Isn’t this what happens when you soundcard isn’t DC coupled?

1 Like

What input module are you using?

I am using CV input of keylab mk2. In midi center it set to 5V.

I am using DC coupled motu m4 interface for sending CV. For receiving Keylab mk2.

Sorry I mean inside the VCV lol

So you’re looking for bipolar instead of unipolar?

Levels

Signals should typically be 10V_{pp}10Vpp​ (peak-to-peak). This means that audio outputs should typically be ±5V (before bandlimiting is applied), and CV modulation sources should typically be 0 to 10V (unipolar CV) or ±5V (bipolar CV).

As I understand in keylab the LFO signal from module is converted to CC which carries positive values only. That means it is unipolar, right? What I am trying to figure out is how to recieve the whole signal of LFO which includes positive and also negative aplitude.

To be more precise this:

not this:

If the recieved signal is only positive,
maybe an offset (-5v) would help?,
but then the signal must really be 0 - 10v.

1 Like

My Minilab outputs 0-10v control voltage into the midi cc-cv module inside of VCV. seems to work fine for everything. Looks like it would need to be a setting inside of MIDI Control Center (software for the Arturia hardware)

Or you can use a module to offset the known voltage like this.