Timing issues with clock generator

Greetings all,

I’m working on a clock generator of sorts and I’m having problems with timing drift. I’ve been trying to use rack::dsp::TTimer as a phase accumulator along with std::fmod to tap off various time divisions.

If someone could take a look at my code, that would be much appreciated:

I have worked out that if I change line 221 from this:

if(_time >= 128.f) { TIMER.reset(); }

to this:

if(_time >= 1.f) { TIMER.reset(); }

I can improve the timing greatly, however I would like to reset the TIMER after 128 to allow for longer time divisions.

I feel like I’m hitting some kind of rounding or accumulative error type problem, but I’m not sure. Does anyone know what’s causing the drift?

Thanks in advance!

Not sure of the cause, but I was about to report this to you.

1 Like

Thanks!

Yeah I was a bit hasty in posting the pre-release, but better to find the issues now I guess. I’m new to C++ and VCV development, so it’s bound to happen

Here’s the line where i do the accumulation (line 244):

TIMER.process(freq * args.sampleTime); // accumulate!!!

I noticed that the accumulator in the VCV Plugin Development Tutorial (VCV Manual - Plugin Development Tutorial) does not use a dsp::TTimer, just a regular variable:

// Accumulate the phase
	phase += freq * args.sampleTime;
	if (phase >= 0.5f)
		phase -= 1.f;

I would assume that producing a sine wave at audio rate needs relatively tight timing, so I take it this sort of accumulator is sufficient for the task. I have tried using a regular variable for the accumulator, and I have the same timing drift issues. So, I guess the issue is somewhere else?

Also, I would have to ask, what’s the purpose of the dsp::TTimer? is there some benefit to using one over a regular variable?

Anyway, any thoughts or tips on this would be most appreciated

1 Like