Textfields + misc

Hi,

I am new to VCV Rack development, though not a noob programmer :slight_smile:

I have created an LedDisplayTextField in my module. I want to display some info in that text box. I also want to grab its content when the user changes it.

I am trying to wrap my head around how the UI elements interact with the module code. From what I can gather, by looking at other people’s code, it seems to revolve around dataToJson and dataFromJson calls? Am I correct? How do I attach the text field to json? Will the module get an event when the textfield’s value change? How do I set it? By inheriting LedDisplayTextField, and override the draw call?

If somebody can point me to something that works along this line, would be greatly appreciated.

Is there documentation on how the param system works? I looked through the api doc, can’t seem to find any.

Is there a place that I can find what has been declared for my modules? Looking through other people’s code, I often find myself going, wait, where did that variable come from? :smiley:

Lastly, I like to use print statements to do some debugging, is there a convention or a debug logging call that I should use? Where will the debug info go? i.e. the log file?

Thank you!

data to and from json is saved with the patch. GUI parameters such as those named in enum ParamIds will always be saved regardless.

Depends on what your text field is doing. You could use a pointer and set conditions based on this number to the address of a number in your dsp. The pointer could be sent to/from json. For example if the text field is outputting different strings you could store these in an array in the draw function and just send/receive the index position to/from json instead of a full string.