Some questions about volts and bits

I’m quite new to VCV Rack, so pleasw forgive my noob questions. I have quite a good understanding of digital and audio signals. Let’s say bits in the digital world, voltages for the analog counterpart. What I can’t grasp is the concept of voltages in a digital audio tool, and in particular in a sw like VCV Rack.

What is the relationship between “Volts” and the bits of an audio sample? Are we saying that, for example, a CV 0/-10V (or - 5/+5) corresponds to the full bits scale? If, let’s say, a 0 dbFS signal coming out of my DAW and redirected to a VCV Rack CV input would be “tranlated” to a 10V gate signal? And how a - 20dbFS signal would be translated to volts?

I know there’s so much to say, and my questions are so basilars, but even a simple answer can be helpful to fill some gaps…

1 Like

https://vcvrack.com/manual/VoltageStandards

2 Likes

And welcome to the community :slight_smile:

Yes, welcome!

The standards page that @PaulPiko linked is definitely the best place to start, but one quick point that may be clarifying is that VCV represents voltages as floating-point numbers, so the concept of a “bit scale” (as we’re used to thinking about from an audio recording perspective) doesn’t really apply. Interfaces to integer-based representations can decide how they’ll represent them. As the docs point out, the convention is to think about audio as +/- 5V (10Vpp) but of you were passing a signal that you wanted to be unipolar in 0…10V (also 10Vpp) you could just shift it up 5V. NYSTHI has a module that gives numerical readouts of voltages which can be helpful as you’re getting used to VCV and the floating point representation.

Have fun! Rack is among the best audio software ever written and the community around it is terrific, with truly astonishing modules getting added all the time.

2 Likes