I’m new to VCV. It opened with what the manual referred to as a “template patch”. I tried some of the controls and changed the setup. Is there a way to restore the original template patch with all controls set to their original default values?
First try CTR+N
If that does not work,
Download this
template.vcv (4.0 KB)
open it in VCV and click overwrite template.
Welcome to Rack and the forum, Frank.
Yes. I will show you the easiest way. First I’ll just explain how the Rack template(s) work.
First, Rack has something called the “User Folder”. This is the folder on your disk where Rack stores your settings, patches and also the “template patch”. On my (Mac) machine the user folder is: “/Users/me/Library/Application Support/Rack2/”. On Windows it will be: “C:\Users<username>\AppData\Local\Rack2\” You can always open it from within Rack by clicking the menu: “Help → Open user folder”.
Second, Rack has something called “the template patch” (actually two). It’s just an ordinary Rack patch, and it’s the one that’s opened every time you select the menu “File → New”, or hit Ctrl/Cmd-N on your keyboard. So it’s your default Rack patch. Many people over time make their own template patch, by preparing a suitable patch for their preferred starting point, and then clicking the “File → Overwrite template” menu.
There’s actually (potentially) two template patches, both located in your user folder if you have created them:
- You can have the patch “template.vcv” which is the default patch when Rack is running stand-alone (not in a DAW). On my computer it’s: “/Users/me/Library/Application Support/Rack2/template.vcv”.
- Then, if you have bought Rack Pro, you can have the patch “template-plugin.vcv”. This is the default patch when you are running Rack as a plugin in a DAW.
For now I’ll just concentrate on the “template.vcv” stand-alone patch.
When you have just installed Rack, and have not yet created your own template patch, Rack opens it’s own, built-in default patch, which comes with the installed program files. This is the one you want to restore. This built-in default patch is located in the Rack “System Folder”, where the program files are installed. On Windows it will be “C:\Program Files\VCV\Rack\” and on my Mac it’s “/Applications/VCV Rack 2 Pro.app/Contents/Resources/”. In the system folder you have both the original template.vcv file, and also the original template-plugin.vcv file, if you bought Rack Pro. So on my machine, the original default-patch is located at: “/Users/me/Library/Application Support/Rack2/template.vcv”.
So how to restore the original default patch the easiest way, and use it as your template:
- Close Rack.
- If you have already created a template patch for yourself, then rename it in the user folder, to e.g. “my-template.vcv”.
- Now open Rack and select the “File → New” menu. Now the original default patch is opened. The one you want.
- Now connect the audio module to your audio interface and verify there’s sound.
- Then click the “File → Overwrite template” menu.
And that’s it! From now on, every time you select “File → New” or hit Ctrl/Cmd-N you get the original Rack default patch, ready to make music.
Clear and highly instructive explanation !

