rack.hpp file not found on Mac?

Howdy!

This problem has been addressed a few times, but never on Mac. I’m just starting out with rack development, and I followed all of the steps in this tutorial, but when I went to compile MyModule.cpp, it couldn’t find the rack.hpp file, which had been included with plugin.hpp.

I feel like it has to do with my file placement. I’ve tried it two ways: first, with the MyPlugin file and the Rack-SDK file both in a file on my desktop, and then with the MyPlugin file in the Rack-SDK file.

The setup is confusing to me, though, because the src file inside of MyPlugin has a plugin.hpp file that includes rack.hpp, which in turn is being included by MyModule.cpp. The include file in Rack-SDK also has a plugin.hpp file, but it looks completely different. Is this the one that MyModule.cpp is trying to include?

That’s a lot of file talk, but does anyone know how to help? Even just telling me where you guys put your plugin folders and what’s in the src folder would help.

Thanks so much :slight_smile:

I don’t use the sdk, I build against rack. There is a plugins folder beneath the top level rack folder, then all the modules are beneath that. For example Rack/plugins/Fundamental

Here’s the folder structure for my latest project. Both my project folder, and the Rack SDK are in the same folder.

~/Source/Rack/
├── Inklen-CableColourKey
│   ├── Makefile
│   ├── plugin.json
│   ├── presets
│   │   └── CableColourKey
│   │       ├── 00_Defaults.vcvm
│   │       ├── 01_1234567890 (keys only).vcvm
│   │       ├── 02_RYGBP.vcvm
│   │       ├── 03_Omri Cohen.vcvm
│   │       └── 04_UAMSLRVTXGYCB.vcvm
│   ├── res
│   │   └── Teko-Medium-Mod-Small.ttf
│   └── src
│       ├── CableColourKey.cpp
│       ├── CableColourKeyGlobalPluginSettings.hpp
│       ├── plugin.cpp
│       └── plugin.hpp
├── Rack-SDK
│   ├── LICENSE-GPLv3.txt
│   ├── LICENSE-dist.md
│   ├── LICENSE.md
│   ├── arch.mk
│   ├── compile.mk