Os for laptop [VCV Rack]

Hi there, I need some suggestions.

because of my job, I have bought a refurbished laptop:

dell precision 7710 - intel i7-6920HQ 2.9GHz - 256Gb M2 drive + 512Gb SSD - 48Gb ram - nvidia M5000M (8Gb) - win10 pro 64 bit

all my experience with VCV Rack and some easy music related stuff (jack, audacity, ecc) is on Linux, my tower pc is still perfect after almost 4 years (ryzen7 1700 - two SSDs - 16Gb ram - nvidia 1050ti 4Gb on Ubuntu 16.04).

Now I want to have VCV Rack on the laptop as well, how would you go?

VCV Rack running on win OR would you install a Linux distro only for playing? I’m quite good at windows, since I use it from the times you had to write “win” on MS-DOS to run it…but I have no experience with music on it…

my goal is to set up everything ready to “play” live, finally my brand new ES-9 is getting here in two days :yum:

cheers :broccoli:

Alessandro

Might I suggest you’ve answered your own question?

in any case, the main issue it going to be the thermals of the laptop. But, yeah, Linux sounds like a fine idea.

1 Like

I don’t know why you would bother with windows if you don’t need it. Linux is lighter, quicker, more hassle free and more customisable.

1 Like

The important question is, are you gonna depend on hardware that requires Windows? For example, for a sound card. That laptop is a beast for sure, but no matter how good the number crunching, you bet its sound card remains entry-grade gear, so you might want an USB sound card, and you know how Linux drivers for prosumer gear tends to be a painful experience. Same if you want a master keyboard with advanced bidirectional features via USB rather than MIDI only.

5 Likes

Exactly a great reason to always buy class-compliant USB devices, when at all possible.

2 Likes

tnx for the replies!

@contemporaryinsanity @Squinky @TroubledMind