Share your experience running VCV on Linux

Hi everyone, VCV Rack’s official noob here, just out of interest, who uses only Linux for music production like myself. I just wondered how many people actually use Linux only for music production.

3 Likes

Well, I rarely get round to any music production at all. But I do all my stuff on linux only these days. I kept my old windows PC, for doing those things that I couldn’t do on linux.: and I’ve not turned it on in more than 5 years.

3 Likes

Linux only here. Don’t even use wine or doze vst’s in carla.

2 Likes

Dual-boot here, Windows remains just because of FL Studio, which I can’t give up (yet).

Everything else I do on Linux :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Linux is my only OS for music, but it is also my main OS for work and such.I have some Windows VSTs that can be loaded up in Carla or Airwave/Host, but honestly rarely rarely use them, I mostly just stay in the VCV box.

3 Likes

Linux. Everywhere and all of the time. For over 20 years.

5 Likes

As a Linux user/programmer since 1994, I really prefer to stay there for my music work.

I have a heavily hacked up version of Slackware on all my boxes, and I do have WINE/vst support via fsthost. I have a number of layered instruments I play all the time, and some parts are VST, and some parts are Linux native. For instance, I have a preset I call meatbass which layers an instance of ZynAddSubFX with two instances of UHe Podolski, a tube emulator VST, and an lv2 IR reverb. Oddly, for funky bass things I’m more likely to use this VCV patch (http://ix.io/2uuO) these days.

I really need to get a bit more done on my MIDI controller fusion thing, so that working with these gets a bit easier. As it is, I can launch my instruments with some file manager clicks, but I really don’t want to touch the mouse or terminal keyboard.

2 Likes