Helper.py and custom widgets

I’m new to VCV Rack plugin development, so I have been using helper.py to help me create my first module. I’m curious as to whether helper.py is intended to be a production tool or just a getting started tool. It is very tedious to re-edit the .cpp file after every use of helper.py that must rerwrite the .cpp file due to SVG components changes. Be that as it is, it seems to me that the support for custom widgets is incomplete, as compared to params, etc. Is this so? In the .cpp file, any widgets components result in code such as:
// mm2px(Vec(2.811, 59.342))
addChild(createWidget(mm2px(Vec(63.307, 18.225))));

I.E., none of the widget component info in the SVG file such as ID and Label are retained in the .cpp file . Is this correct, or am I misinterpreting this (or doing something wrong)? I can look at the coordinates and determine which SVG component this widget is for, but how do I identify the widget object in code where I flesh out the widget functionality?

Thanks

Hello. :slight_smile:

I work around that by:

1. Using helper.py to create a “fake” .cpp file from the “real” .svg file.
  2. Manually copy across the changes to the “real” .cpp file from the “fake” one.
  3. Remove the details for the “fake” module from the plugin.json file, and delete the “fake” .cpp file.

For example…

Rack-SDK/helper.py createmodule MyFakeModule res/MyRealModule.svg src/MyFakeModule.cpp

As for custom components.

I put an example module repo on GitHub which contains a file called res/Thing.svg which contains a components layer with the “placeholder circles” for a param, input, output, light and custom widget. The resulting src/Thing.cpp file, created by the helper.py script, is also in the repo.