Dustcat's development thread

welcome to my dev thread I started programming my own module last week, the Dustcat Sequencer:

you guessed it (or maybe not :sweat_smile:) it is heavily inspired by the Erica Synth Black Sequencer, its going to have a slightly different set of features though, this thread will be used to show my progress, gather idea and feedback :smiley:

the main goal of this sequencer is more or less the same as the black sequencer: almost no menu diving, easy and fast to get something going, but still being able to transform it to a full blown composition

this sequencer has 5 main mode: pattern, song, CV, gate and mute the state of the two data encoders on the left and the 16 step knobs on the right will reflect the mode the sequencer is currently in, in mute mode the track selection switches will change to track mute switches.

right now only 5 values for gates are possible: 0 (off), 25, 50, 75, 99 and tie (TI)

the length selection mode is not a primary mode like CV, gate, etc so when length mode is activated the step knobs will still change the corresponding step note, octave or gate

shift is also a switch that will change what the step knobs do for instance in CV mode, it allows you to change the octave: no shift = note, shift = octave

the mute leds are only used to show the mute status of the tracks

the play step plays the current step, the only way to move the playing step is to send a clock (but manual clock, reset and run button are going to be added before the first release), I might use a shift + play step to move the current playing step later

the follow button will make the displayed page change, but that’s a complex feature to implement as current selected page is used a lot in the code

save is going to be changed to OK, will be used to confirm any destructive action that does not use a knob (paste, clear)