Classic module pairings

I’m relatively new to both VCV and modular in general so, firstly, gidday from Brisbane. After reading a couple of times about classic module pairings I’ve discovered the magical combo of MI/AI Rings and Braids which, triggered by Befaco Rampage, is a source of endless hours of amazement for me.

Would some of you more experienced VCV’ers care to share other classic pairings for me and other newbs to explore!?

Apologies if this has been asked before, I searched but couldn’t find a similar thread.

2 Likes

Turing Machine + Quantizer. The quantizer then goes into an oscillator, of course. I made a whole album out of variations on quantized sources of repeating randomness.

Repetition will turn anything into music. Quantizers will turn anything into music. It’s a wild beast impossible to fully tame, asking you to play along with whatever happens. Forget about harmony, randomness has no concept of it, it’s all about the hypnotic rhythms.

The Stellare Modular Turing machine is the easiest to get started, but the Skrylar is my current favorite, as it implements the Vactrol mix expander missing on the Stellare. MI’s Marbles is also worth checking out, but harder to learn. As for the quantizer, pretty much any of them will do.

4 Likes

Rings into Clouds is such a classic that people will call you out as unoriginal if you use it XD (It’s often a joke tho, if you try it and like it, by all means use it :wink: )

1 Like

Patterns and GridSeq

7 Likes

Lindenberg Woldemar+alma= minimooooooog

Befaco rampage+ABC = Math

VULT Basal+ NYSTHI POLY LPG = 16 track bleep machine

FATE+any quantizer= music

Talking about pairing: Geodesics Fate was made in the idea to be paired with Impromptu Foundry: Foundry is IMO the most advanced deterministic sequencer. You can write some very advanced melodies of your own… and then let FATE gently mess up with it :smiley:

7 Likes